keroneden.blogg.se

Auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers
Auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers




auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers
  1. #Auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers manual#
  2. #Auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers series#

Considering the price point and throw-back design, I’d say it’s truly a bargain. The controls are stiff, and the gritty take up in the trigger makes the gun feel as if it were manufactured on a WWII assembly line.Īs bad as I make it sound, the reality is that the gun is well built. It wouldn’t be an homage to the WWII era guns if it wasn’t reliable, so this makes sense. The frame and slide are machined from steel castings and fit for reliability and not match-grade accuracy. I began with the pistol uncleaned and another dose of CLP to the slide rails.Accuracy is on par with much more expensive 1911s. I met with my mother that morning for some sausage and gravy biscuits before she accompanied me to the range. I took the slide off and tightened the tenon with a punch and added a drop of red Loctite.įall is approaching and the weather is getting nice so with a fair amount of excitement I woke up Sunday morning looking forward to shooting the Auto-Ordnance 1911A1 and getting deeper into the test. When I got the A-O home I noticed the front sight had loosened up just a shade. I did make it a point to run a few extra JHPs through the pistol using a different magazine and I am confident it was a magazine issue. I went through 165 rounds that morning and aside from the two misfeeds from the factory magazine there were no more problems. I then incorporated eight round Colt Checkmate magazines and an old seven round magazine I have had many years and function from then on was again without incident.

#Auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers manual#

The factory magazine did not like JHP (in all fairness the manual clearly states that 230gr FMJ is the recommended ammunition). Auto Ordnance 1911A1 S Manual Clearly States I set up the range table about ten feet from the muzzle, applied a little CLP in the sweet spots, and got to it. The thumb safety looked correct for an original 1911A1, and engaged and disengaged positively.įactory magazine on the right with an odd looking follower as well as an old magazine I used that fed JHPs and LSWCs perfect. The barrel bushing fit was snug but not so tight that a bushing wrench was needed to remove.

#Auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers series#

The supplied magazine is a little different then what I am used to seeing but as for the rest of the pistol, other than the Series 80 firing pin safety I believe it to be a good 1911A1 reproduction. With that in mind this pistol detail strips as any other Series 80 equipped Government Model (though notice the extra long firing pin spring).Īccording to Auto Ordnance the pistols frame is cast while the slide is barstock and the barrel is a one-piece item. This Kahr-built Auto-Ordnance uses the Colt Series 80 firing pin safety. Kahr Arms bought Auto-Ordnance in 1999 and, from what I understand, the quality was improved upon. Quality of Auto-Ordnance firearms under Numrichs stewardship is generally regarded as questionable. It is worth mentioning that the name Auto-Ordnance has undergone changes of ownership.Ī few years ago the brand was owned by Numrich Gun Parts Corp. I contacted Frank Harris with Kahr Arms immediately to get the details.Īfter a little time a Kahr built Auto-Ordnance showed up at Jims Guns in Raleigh waiting for me and some range time. I ran 50 rounds of Winchester 230gr FMJ through the factory magazine and function was flawless.Ī little while back John contacted me about testing the Auto-Ordnance 1911A1 WWII for our e-zine. I was told the extractor was probably for a 1911 and I needed a 1911A1 extractor or one made for the year the Auto Ordnance was built. Auto Ordnance 1911A1 S Manual Clearly States.






Auto ordnance 1911a1 serial numbers